Borough Government

Mayor David Holeman Jr.
Term expires 12/31/2020


Ondria Garcia-Montes   12/31/18   Veronica Hedgepath    12/31/18
Vera Cheatham               12/31/19   James Glass                 12/31/19
 Ismael Lorenzo              12/31/17   Tara White                     12/31/17

The Mayor and Council meet the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month at 6:00PM. Please check the calendar for cancellations, rescheduled meetings and new special meetings.
The public is encouraged to attend these meetings.  Please note if you wish to speak there is a 5 minute alottment time.

The Borough Form (NJSA 40A:60-1)
The Borough form remains the single most popular form of local government in New Jersey. This form dates back to the Borough Act of 1878 and was revised in 1897 and by the Borough Act of 1987. The Borough mayor is elected at-large to a four-year term. Six council members are elected at-large to staggered three-year terms. 

The Borough form is often referred to as a “weak mayor-strong council” form. The mayor retains all general law authority, presides over council meetings and can vote in the case of a tie. The mayor appoints, with the advice and consent of council, all subordinate officers of the municipality. The council is the legislative body of the Borough. All executive responsibilities not placed in the office of the Mayor by general law or the Borough law remain with the council. 

Like the other traditional forms, a Borough may appoint an administrator and delegate all or a portion of the executive responsibilities to him/her. The council may also adopt an administrative code, prescribing how the council shall perform it duties. As of 2006, 218 New Jersey municipalities operate under this form.